Federation of Chinese Golf Clubs


The Federation of Chinese Golf Clubs was formed on May 29, 1970.

The initial meeting that set the stage in forming the Federation was hosted by the Oakland club in July 1968. During the luncheon meeting following the Officer’s Match Event at the Round Hill C.C., the idea was presented by host President Hugh Lee. Over the next two years, several meetings followed to lay the foundation for the present organization.

On May 29, 1970, the constitution and by-laws were adopted, and the election of officers included President Josh Fong, Oakland, 1st VP Laurie Chow, Los Angeles, 2nd VP Hing Owyang, Jr., Sacramento, and Secretary-Treasurer Hugh Lee, Oakland.

Charter membership plaques were presented to the presidents of the following clubs: Jack L. Wong, Golden Hill; Dr.. Guey Mark, Stockton; Russell Fong, Sacramento; Leon Lym, San Francisco; Dr. Wally Lee, Long Beach; Henry Moy, Los Angeles; Dr. Henry Lowe, Salinas; and Jack Tong, Oakland. A Federation emblem was approved and the central directory was established.

Presidents of the Charter Clubs - May 1970
The objectives of the Federation are:

The Federation itself has no governing jurisdiction over policies of other clubs. The game of golf is promoted through open discussions to share ideas so that member clubs may benefit from each other’s experiences or to discuss any mutual problems. It was hoped that through the exchange of ideas between clubs, the Federation would best serve its member clubs.

Today, the Federation has 25 clubs with over 1,611 members.


Posted 11/15/2004